Florida Coastal Moot Court Honor Board successes

The Moot Court Honor Board won two competitions last weekend. The first was the Frederick Douglas Moot Court Competition (FDMCC), one of the largest advocacy competitions in the country, with more than 150 teams competing. FDMCC is hosted by the National Black Law Students Association.

Our team consisted of oralists/brief writers Tier Brown and De’Anne Jackson and Team Manager Juwon Adebayo. The team was coached by Honor Board alum Cory Simmons, who now practices criminal law downtown. After having won the FDMCC Southern Regional in January, Tier and De’Anne argued this weekend in the National Rounds in Washington, D.C. At the National Rounds, our team defeated teams from Columbia University, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Texas, UCLA, South Texas, John Marshal Law School (Chicago), St. Thomas University (Miami), the University of Alabama and Washington & Lee, among others. This is an outstanding accomplishment! Congratulations to all!In addition to the success at FDMCC, another Honor Board team won the National Child Welfare and Adoption Law Moot Court Competition in Ohio last weekend. The team members were Jessica DaSilva and Monique Robinson (oralists) and Dominic DeLuca (brief writer). Aida Ramirez served as the Team Manager.

Our team surpassed more than twenty teams from law schools such as the University of Michigan, Baylor University, Seton Hall University, the University of San Diego, Brigham Young University, the University of Colorado, Loyola University of Chicago, Chicago-Kent College of Law and Elon University, among others. In addition to winning the championship, Monique Robinson received the Best Advocate Award for her performance in the championship round. The championship round bench included the former chief justice of the Supreme Court of Ohio and the current president of the American Academy of Adoption Attorneys.

Another Honor Board team at this same competition reached the semi-finals, narrowly getting edged out on a chance to join our other team in the championship round. Katherine Daugherty and Alison Thomas (oralists) and Brian Chorney (brief writer) performed brilliantly in reaching the semi-finals. Linsay Warren, a former President of the Moot Court Honor Board and currently Assistant General Counsel of the Wounded Warrior Project, served as the coach of both teams.

Congratulations to both of these teams!