Florida Coastal Moot Court Honor Board wins two competitions

It was an outstanding and precedent setting weekend for Florida Coastal Moot Court teams. The Moot Court Honor Board entered teams in two national competitions, in Atlanta and Los Angeles, and won both! So far this year there have been three national moot court competitions. Florida Coastal has won all three!

One of the teams won the championship at the National Civil Rights and Liberties Moot Court Competition in Atlanta, while another Honor Board team narrowly missed advancing to the semi-finals in that competition. Samantha Marriott served as the Team Manager for both teams. The team of Ross Darville and Nicolas Gullett (oralists) and Matt Rosenthal (brief writer/oralist) won all seven of their rounds to win the championship. In addition to the championship, this team won Best Brief, Fourth. Our team defeated the University of Georgia in a final round benched by federal appellate judges from the Third, Fifth and Eighth Circuit Courts of Appeal. Our team of Anson Call and Michael Stack (oralists) and Nicole Jordan (brief writer/oralist) was undefeated in the preliminary rounds and narrowly missed advancing to the semi-finals. Professor Sander Moody coached both teams.

The Honor Board also won the National Latino Law Students Association Moot Court Competition in Los Angeles this weekend while an additional Honor Board team at this competition narrowly missed reaching the semi-finals. Patrick Goode was the Team Manager for both teams. The team of Amie DeGuzman and Loreyn Raab (oralists) and Dominic DeLuca (brief writer/oralist) won the championship, defeating another law school advocacy powerhouse, South Texas, in the final round. In addition to the championship, Amie DeGuzman won the Best Advocate Awards for the competition as a whole and the final round. Our other team, Michael Ballou and Shirley Zambrano (oralists) and Yaveth Parodi (brief writer/oralist), argued brilliantly and barely missed advancing to the semi-finals. Professor Nick Martino coached both the teams.

Congratulations to all!