News & Noteworthy

Coastal Law students earn ABOTA scholarships


The Jacksonville Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) announced scholarship recipients to students earning the top grades in each fall 2010 Professional Responsibility section. The book awards are intended to recognize Coastal Law's commitment to increasing professionalism in legal education and in the legal profession.

Congratulations to these winners -- Jerry Justice; Leah Iknayan; Jessica DeSantis; Christopher Ryan; Lauren Channell; Sarah Bell; and Ryan O'Connor.

Coastal Law Moot Court ranked 5th nationally


Coastal Law's Moot Court team reached the regional quarter-finals at the National Black Law Students Association's Frederick Douglas Moot Court Competition, earning a Best Brief Award for the Petitioner and Best Advocate Award for the competition in the process. Nationally, the team currently ranks fifth and is on track to earn an invitation to compete in the National Championships in January 2012.