Coastal Law wins championship, best brief award

Two teams competing on behalf of Florida Coastal School of Law both advanced to the final round of The Thomas Tang National Moot Court Regional Competition on October 20, earning champion and finalist honors in the process. Outperforming law schools including Southern Methodist University and the University of Miami, both teams will represent Coastal Law in Washington, D.C. at the national rounds in November.

Check out the team picture on Facebook and read more for the full details.

The team of Nina Cano and Rishi Pattni won the regional championship. Alex Amador and Jansen Balisi were finalists, who also earned the Best Brief Award at the competition. Kristen Warren and Professor Sander Moody managed and coached both Honor Board teams, respectively. 

The Thomas Tang National Moot Court Competition was founded in 1993 by the APA Law Student Association of the South Texas College of Law. It is administered by the NAPABA Law Foundation and the NAPABA Judicial Council. 

Since 2005, Florida Coastal School of Law has won 23 championships and more than 80 Best Advocate and Best Brief awards. Currently the school’s Moot Court program program is ranked among the national top five of law schools according to the Moot Court National Championship standings.